Skip to content

Stupid hard drive

February 8, 2011

I’m upset that I lost all my pictures that were saved in my hard drive.
I usually save all the files from my camera in CDs but ever since I bought a new hard drive to back them up, I stopped burning CDs.
Thinking that hard drives were more reliable than CDs and requires less physical space, I transferred all the pictures I’d ever taken with a digital camera(since 2004) into the hard drive.
I even considered throwing away all those CDs after I’ve completed organising them nicely in the hard drive.
But. I procrastinated and the CDs are still here.

I bought the external hard drive early April 2010.
Who would’ve thought that the hard drive would crash after 3 months.
The files that were dated from 11 July 2009 (I stopped burning CDs) until  16 July 2010 are gone.

I sincerely apologise to those that requested for pictures from me since last year…
If only I were more diligent in sending large files, we might still have a copy of those photographs. =(

I feel most guilty of not backing up my parents’ holiday to China pictures.
Though there are some that I still haven’t erase from the memory card in the camera, most of the pictures are already gone.
Their first trip so far away from home and there’s only a handful of the memory left.
I can’t even bring myself to tell them that I wasn’t able to salvage the photographs. =(

The hard drive was under warranty so I brought it to the shop to fix it.
I told the guy to salvage whatever possible but the most important one was the “Pictures” folder.
He said okay, he’ll contact me when there’s any changes.
A month later I called, and he told me to come pick up the external hard drive.
Off I went and they replaced it.
They replaced my data-filled-external-hard-drive-of-500GB with a completely-new-but-somehow-filled-with-a-Nigerian-man-data-and-documents-hard-drive.
My data?
GONE.
I told him what happened to salvaging the data that I told him to work on and he said, every time when it’s sent to the factory for warranty purposes, they’d just replace it. What-ThE-F*CK!!!!

Now I’m back to working on re-organising the files from the CDs and the new picture files into the “new” hard drive.
I am tired of organising nicely and reorganising things all over again.

Passing time

October 14, 2010

 

Books.

 

I’m sure most of you were wondering what was it that I’ve been up to for the past couple of months.
Well, the answer is to your right.

There’s roughly 50 books there.
(And add a few more that are kept elsewhere…)
Most of them were purchased when there was a bargain for RM5 per book some time last year (It was a steal! I couldn’t help it! WHO in their right mind could resist rummaging through the massive stack of books when they know they can never find books as cheap as dirt elsewhere? It has been a year since I went into that trance and I can still feel the glee I had when I was standing there staring at the books. Okay, I THINK THERE’S SOMETHING WRONG WITH ME!).
Then there are also some additional ones which I bought when I happen to have wandered (I’m serious!) into a book store…
Or the recent BookFest! … (Oh No! I really shouldn’t have gone for it. Though relatively, I had a great sense of control THAT DAY but that was also because I bought some book a few days ago!)
I shouldn’t lose my mind like that. Sorry.

Three books ago, I’ve reread my “Kane and Abel” by Jeffrey Archer.
Even though this time it’s the 30th anniversary re-crafted edition (I lost my? copy of the original version of the story), I still enjoyed the story tremendously.
No matter how many times I reread this book, I would still feel like crying at the end of the story.
Why?
Because that’s what good books do to you. You’ll be sad because the story has ended.

Usually, after finishing a good book, I’d lie on my back, place the book on my chest and just breathe.
Some sort of ritual for me to come back to reality, I guess… (stories have always been another dimension for me)
Or maybe I’m like that because I’m sad.
Mind you, only for good books.
If the book is only passable, I’d place them back in my box right away.

Wee~!! Books! Books! Books!!!

P.s~ I’m currently reading another book by Jeffrey Archer. I like!

Debit card, friend or foe? Self-control.

October 6, 2010

Dear love(readers, if there are still any left),

I am currently alive.
I’m sorry that I’ve abandoned the journal? for so long and for moving it to WordPress.
It has something to do with Spaces by MSN and WordPress(lets not get into details).

I’ve been up to no good-things, so they’re not worth mentioning.
Unless, you want to listen to the bad things…

Haha!

I guess this is why I’m writing this post isn’t it?

*silence*

Okay, here goes…

I think not studying has ROT my mind (By the way I’m a N.E.E.T.).

For your information, all these while I’ve not had cards (credit cards, ATM cards, etcetera.).
I persisted with the mindset to not get it for fear that I might simply spend off my hard-earned savings or worse, be debt ridden.
For 2 years, I prevailed.
Then comes THE other day.
Beautiful blue sky.
The sun was shining brightly.
So mighty was the sun, I woke up earlier than usual.
I woke up and I decided that I should get a debit card! (I was in my stupid mode.)
So off I went to the bank and applied for one at once.
Hurray~!?
NO!
It’s a disaster! Preposterous! Unbelievable.
Once the card was ready to use, I went to the gym and signed up(more later on this gym).
A quarter of my touchable-savings, GONE!
Poof~!
Then even after spending a quarter of my touchables(this word does not exist), the itch was still there…
In my mind, I had to.
I must, or I will… I will… I don’t know!
But I know I MUST  purchase something with this new “freedom” of mine!
I roamed around the supermarket without any particular need for anything.
AndIboughtatubofyoghurt.

How dumb was that?!

Luckily, I wasn’t completely under the spell(of having purchasing power).
I decided to pay with cash instead of using my newly acquired debit card.
I was guilt-ridden?
No! It was a lie. The previous three lines were all lies.
The truth was, I was still COMPLETELY “possessed”.
The only reason I didn’t succeed in using the card was because I thought it was dumb to use a card for a RM14 purchase.
There.

Note to self: PLEASE.CONTROL. Spending.

On a brighter note…

May 22, 2010
I’ve only 15 more working days left in the company!!!
It makes me happy thinking that I’m going to leave this constricting place soon.
But it also makes me sad that I’m going to have to leave this place filled with wonderful colleagues.
They’re much better than my previous workplace.

I’ve even found some lessons from the people in both my workplaces.

Lesson 1: There’s always someone that would back-stab you. No matter where you work, there will always be someone lurking.

Lesson 2; Your workload depends on your performance.
(a): If you work slowly, you get less work(as long as you finish them right on time, so that it won’t pile up).
(b): If you work fast, your pile of work will increase(even until you’re screaming for help, the workload will continue to increase).

Lesson 3 ; You can only get either of these 2 types of bosses.
(a): The one that cares about your performance now and in the future = harsh office life.
(b): The one that doesn’t give a damn now and ever = harmonious office time.

Lesson 4: No matter how good your eyes are, if you work in an office and always stares at the monitor, you’re going to spoil your eyes.

Lesson 5: If only you’re able to tear off all their masks, you’d realise that the office is a scary and vicious place. The walls have ears.

I’m scared of working in a office.
I don’t think I want to work in an office for life.
But I’ve been so good at it that I think, I might have been made for this…

No~~!!!!
Never!

I will definitely say goodbye to office life.

15 days and counting down!

Hello newbie.

May 22, 2010
I can’t stand slow people.
I can’t stand back-stabbers that stabs from the front.
I can’t stand thick-skinned people.
I can’t stand irresponsible people.
I can’t stand people that can’t keep up with important deadlines.
I can’t stand people that don’t understand but act as though they have everything within their grasp.
I can’t stand people that are unwilling to admit their fault.
I can’t stand people that can’t open their little red pursed lips to ask a question.
I can’t stand people that can’t keep up with my pace.
I can’t stand people that smiles at me while giving me a sh*tty reason to ditch work.
I can’t stand people that thinks lightly of their responsibility.
I can’t stand selfish people.
I can’t stand stupid people.
I can’t stand people that can’t differentiate headquarters from branches.
I can’t stand people that abandon their simple assignment halfway without completing it before they go home.
I can’t stand people that are not on time.
I can’t stand people that knows I’m busy but comes and tell me about how free they were while I work my *ss off, and they’d still get the same pay as me.
I can’t stand people that tell me, "If they want, then they have to wait la!"
I just can’t stand people like that.

Maybe I’m just being harsh on the newbie.
But that’s exactly my thoughts.
I didn’t mean to have them.
These evil thoughts.
But they’re present in me no matter how I try to prevent myself from thinking this way.
I’m just me.
A human being.
Imperfect.
But much better than a lot others.

Bright.

May 4, 2010
Has the office always been so bright?
It hurts my eyes.
Headache…


Love,
~TeddyMak~

I hate my desk.

May 3, 2010
My desk looks like a freaking dump.
Paper files everywhere.
Folders on top of the CPU.
On top of the monitor.
On the empty chair next to mine.
Filled the desk next to mine…
Even on the barrier? between my desk and the one next to mine…
A dump.
I hate messy things.
=(
I want to run far far away from here!
This responsibility I have on my shoulder is killing me.
29 more days to go…


Love,
~TeddyMak~

ghost crab

April 18, 2010
I kind of miss posting pictures on my space.
But there just doesn’t seem to be anything worth showing.
Or anyone that I want to show it to.
I’m growing, inward.
Losing grasp with the world?
Maybe…

Open? Not?

April 15, 2010
It amazes me how open office ladies are…
They make me feel conservative…


Love,
~TeddyMak~

Bored

April 14, 2010
Hello world!
I’m still alive!
But going to be bored to death soon…


Love,
~TeddyMak~